Writing…

I had the awesome opportunity of attending a writing workshop this weekend hosted by Brian Henry of the Quick Brown Fox, (his blog is awesome, follow it for great info and tips) that was held at a local library. The workshop was called, Writing for Children and for Young Adults workshop. I learned SO much and it was such a great experience to be in a room full of people with the same goals, hopes and aspirations. Brian was funny, a great speaker and above all such a great teacher. I took so many things away from his workshop that will help me polish my craft and become a better writer. I brought along three copies of my work, a notepad and a pen and got down to business. Brian spent the morning talking about imperative topics that included definitions of  various genres/age groups.  We did a short writing exercise, paired up and critiqued eachother’s work and had the opportunity to ask questions. There was a student from Brian’s workshop who had been published with Scholastic(!!!) and there was a literary agent from a well known and respected agency, both of whom answered our most burning questions graciously. They answered everything we wanted to know; from, “How did you get published?”,”Do you need an agent?”, “How long did it take to finish your novel from inception to publication?” and so on. It was a great afternoon!

The biggest thing I took away from the workshop was to be FRESH and ORIGINAL! Be bold, take risks, put yourself out there and most of all write what YOU want to write about and what is important to YOU. I highly recommend attending a writing workshop if you want to be a writer, it was extremely helpful and fun. Visit Brian’s blog http://quick-brown-fox-canada.blogspot.ca and start writing!

Startup Stock Photos

Writing Session

 

Update on GI diet…

Good Morning Friends!

So as you know, we have been testing out various diets to see what works, what doesn’t and if diets really work in general. Last week, we decided to jump on board with a Low Glycemic Index diet…Here’s what happened! (Read our previous post that explains how the diet works and what the parameters are)

The diet was AWESOME. I never felt hungry because I was eating 6 times a day. I stuck to green light foods and LOST 4 pounds in a WEEK! I know, I know, you’re only supposed to lose 2 pounds a week and anything other than that is muscle and water and scales are a really bad indicator of weight loss and we should be geared towards fat loss…but here’s the really cool thing-this low GI diet was extremely helpful in other ways not just on the scale.

I felt better all around, I had a better outlook and attitude, cravings all but disappeared, it was easy, it was convenient and I felt fuller on smaller portions because my blood sugar wasn’t on a wild rollercoaster ride! What a great diet this was to follow and I can honestly say that I would do it again in a heartbeat, and by that I mean sticking to green light foods most of the time which translates to a lifestyle change. It was SO EASY! There was never a moment where I was like, “This is horrible, how am I going to make it through the next six days?” which I thought was pretty awesome. RUN TO THE BOOKSTORE and get your copy of the G.I. Diet and start feeling better on the inside and out! Stay tuned for the next diet we try so that you don’t have to:)

scale-403585_1920