Cray of The Day…It’s Census Time…

On Friday I went to the community mailbox for the first time in about a week. Ever since they stopped home delivery I never think about the mail; I gathered up the flyers, bills and junk mail when something caught my eye…The 2016 Census.

UGHHHHHHHH! Of course I drew the short straw and got the long form version…this is where my rant begins, but oh no, it’s not even close to being over! The Census from Stats Canada was absolutely ridiculous. It took me 25 MINUTES to complete and most of the questions were ludicrous. The site kept freezing and was an overall nightmare to complete. I mean, how many times do they need to ask what my native language is…FOUR TIMES, that’s how many to be exact and each time it was phrased slightly differently.

Another thing that totally annoyed me was some of the other questions on the census; how much money do you spend per year on hydro…Ummm…it varies…same with water etc. I know that giving a rough estimate is what they were looking for but still it was a complete waste of time! The questions were repetitive and for the most part irrelevant.

There was one thing that I found quite funny though, on the census it says…”Complete the census…it’s the law.” What? No please or thank you? And it was also kind of funny when  the Chief Statistician tweeted that he completed his census and asked, “Have you?” Yep…pretty sure I’d be thrown in jail otherwise…just a quick reminder that it’s the law! And I would hope that the Chief Statistician would complete the census! It’s his job right?

What I want to know is how this MANDATORY census helps Canadians…I realize that it gives the Government info that it so desperately needs about us like how much we spend on utilities per year…actually laughing out loud at this… but then what happens? How does it benefit the people? If anyone can answer my question please comment in the box below! I look forward to your thoughts and comments.

girl-1064659_1280

2 thoughts on “Cray of The Day…It’s Census Time…

Leave a Reply

