Cray of the day…

Hello everyone! So today’s Cray of the day is very annoying and I’m sure that most of you, if not all of you can relate.

Doesn’t it drive you nuts when people offer you advice in something that they don’t have a clue about? For example; when I was training for my 30km race I had an excellent support system that was full of people who had done the race multiple times. They had been successful in finishing, shared tips and tricks with me, shared training plans and advice and even a couple of recipes. I was thankful for the people who gave me the advice that I needed to succeed because afterall, these people were pros who have been doing this for years. What I didn’t appreciate was all of the people who weren’t runners, or athletes, or nutritionists or professionals in any way shape or form giving me their two cents worth.

It was kind of funny because there were certain people who had clearly never run a day in their life giving me advice and telling me to do specific things. “Make sure that you have protein, carbs and a fruit for breakfast.” Sure this was sound advice but not from someone who  eats most of their meals from a drive through and has never done anything physical for the past thirty years. I’m not trying to sound ungrateful, I’m just saying that if I was going to take someone’s advice it would be the person who was in shape, who had run the race before and finished it and someone who kept track of their nutritional needs and demands for doing such a physical thing. I’m just using my experience as an example, I truly do believe that such people only want the best for you but on the other hand it’s like how the hell would they know what’s best for me when clearly they don’t do what’s best for themselves?

Let me put it to you this way; my husband and I don’t have kids. We have a 12 year old nephew yes, but we are not his parents in any way, shape or form. That would be like us giving advice on how to raise a child to someone who already has 3 kids…get what I’m saying? Could you imagine? But from what I hear stuff like this happens all the time to people and it drives me nuts. My advice is to speak on what you know, what you have experience in and what you do well, don’t just regurgitate the latest information or opinion that you’ve come up with and pass it off as sound advice…and don’t get me wrong, if you want to learn about something than by all means learn about it! Educate yourself before you speak. I’m all about bettering one’s self and being the best version of what we can be…but don’t give advice to others if you don’t follow it yourself! Only give advice when asked for it… it’s a good rule to live by.

boy-909552_1280

Don’t you think your kid is a little close to the edge? Is he wearing sunscreen? Shouldn’t he be wearing a shirt?…Shut your ass, you’re not a parent so you have no opinion!

Leave a Reply

